Starting Issue

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

MechChallenged Mike McAndrews
Ashland, Oregon, USA   USA
Any and All, Full restoration of a 62 3000 Tri-Carb almost finished with one significant glitch, balky starting, particularly when hot. Push starter button and clicks but doesn't want to turn over. Seems to be getting worse. New battery and wiring. I'm NOT a mechanic. Help here? Starter motor? Engine strap to chassis? Solenoid? I don't want to have to park the car on a hill every time I go somewhere. All suggestions appreciated.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
IMG_0665.jpg    53.1 KB
IMG_0665.jpg

bluecatmodels Avatar
bluecatmodels Silver Member Dave W
Three Rivers, CA, USA   USA
Mike,
One of the best changes I made to my 1960 BT7 was to install a new gear reduction starter, about $200. They are not difficult to install; it took me 20 minutes. Your gas station mechanic should be able to do it. My car starts immediately even when the engines is cold or there is some vapor lock.
Dave

San Jose, California, USA   USA
"Starter motor? Engine strap to chassis? Solenoid?"

Could be any or all of the above. My guess is starter, but could also be the solenoid. If your starter has more than 100K miles on it and if you prefer to keep your car original your starter can be rebuilt. Mine wouldn't crank my new engine with increased compression, but after an overhaul it cranks nearly as well as the one on my Mustang GT. Star Auto did the rebuild: starautoelectric.com (he also rebuilt my generator).

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
mudbob Avatar
mudbob Bob Greenslade
Roseville, CA, USA   USA