AHExp

The 100 Forum

Wiring - 2 mods required so should I get a individual loom made?

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Luegolover Steve L
London, London, UK   GBR
Hello,

Having got the inner bodywork into paint I am now starting to think about the next steps and wiring is one of them. I am plaining on setting the car up in standard form except I am going to use one 12V battery and I would like a 12V power socket hidden under the dashboard.

Do I need to get a modified loom for those of should I just modify a standard loom from somewhere like Ahead 4 Healey's?

Regards

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Supporting Member <
HealeyinOZ Avatar
HealeyinOZ Howard L
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia   AUS
Hi,

I am not an electrical engineer but I have run both a single and twin 12V batteries in my car without any modification to the wiring harness. I currently run twin 12V gel filled batteries which are connected in parallel.

I also run a 12V accessory socket mounted on the underside of the parcel tray, using the original choke control holes for the mount. I don't drill holes in my car for anything. The socket is connected directly to the battery. The wiring runs under the carpet and terminates in a connector that matches the connector for my battery charger. I have a charger line permanently attached to the batteries and it comes out from the gap around the battery hatch and sits behind the driver's seat. When I need 12V power I simply join the connectors and the socket is activated. The wires go through an in-line fuse to protect the circuit.

This modification was done long after the car was restored so there was no chance to get a modified wiring harness. That would be a better option but at what cost? That's a value judgement only you can make.

Cheers

NaDaDawgRacer John Jones
Waxhaw, NC, USA   USA
X2
John

Luegolover Steve L
London, London, UK   GBR
Thank you