AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

wagonaire144 Avatar
wagonaire144 bill d
mequon, wisconsin, USA   USA
hello,
is there any interest in a discussion about starting to race a car you may have or could obtain? i suggest this as i have been racing 3000's for many years, in historic racing here in the US. I feel there is some good information, bad information and pitfalls that could be avoided, and perhaps could start folks out to racing that may not otherwise elect to do so. yes? no?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Dougie Avatar
Dougie Doug Escriva
Portland, Oregon, USA   USA
Bill -

I'll give you a resounding YES. As you know it's much easier to climb behind the wheel of a bugeye and call yourself a racer. To build, race and maintain a small bore LBC is the simplest entry to the vintage race arena. For those who crave more and relish in taking the path less traveled, I challenge those interested in vintage racing to go Big.........Big Healey. For most however, the learning curve is much too steep. With just a few advertised "speed shops" offering race and high performance competition parts, you're at the mercy of these UK suppliers to assist you in building a race motor or setting up a car correctly. That is, unless you're creative, resourceful, and willing to do some of the hard work yourself. Unfortunately, those new to vintage racing either don't know how, aren't willing to put in the time or pay out the money to build a big Healey racer the right way. Any discussions that help grow the brotherhood of big Healey racers would be beneficial.

BTW - I'll be back to Road America this September for the ELVF. Will you be racing this year?

wagonaire144 Avatar
wagonaire144 bill d
doug,

with any luck i'll be racing , without, i'll just be there, drumming up buisness...