Removal of original adjustable steering wheel - Mark 3 3000 BJ8

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

kene66 Ken Elm
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK   GBR
Could someone please point me in the direction of a "step by step" removal/replacement of the steering wheel and trafficator on my BJ8?

I have found some text only "guides" but nothing with pictures.

I am fairly new to all of this and want to do as much research as possible.

Many many thanks.

K

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
petnatcar Avatar
petnatcar Silver Member Peter Carbone
Watertown, NY, USA   USA
Hi Ken,

You can find detailed step by step instructions in the Factory Workshop Manual, Section N.30 pg N.21, so
if you don't own one get it as soon as you can. It was the first thing I bought after getting my car.

You'll have to remove the grill so you can get at the 4 small wires at the end of the steering column stator tube.

Disconnect those wires and tape them all together so they will slide back into the stator tube,
they will have to be pulled all the way out into the cockpit.

You may need to cut off the soldered bullet terminals on a couple of these wires so they'll all fit back inside the stator tube.
That's what I had to do.

Be sure to attach a wire or heavy string to this bunch of wires so you can pull it back down through the tube for reinstallation.

There are 3 small set screws around the circumference of the steering wheel boss,
loosen them and pull the horn/signal switch out slowly,
take notice of the slot in the stator tube and the indentation in the small tube attached to the horn/signal switch.
These need to be in alignment when reinstalling the switch.

You should have the switch and pigtail in your hand at this point.

Good luck,
Peter Carbone

Attachments:
Horn Assembly.jpg    43.8 KB
Horn Assembly.jpg

kene66 Ken Elm
Ipswich, Suffolk, UK   GBR
Thanks Peter. Very much appreciated!
K