Visit our Twitter feed for more great content
AHExp

The Sprite Forum

Any ideas on how to title/register this Sprite in PA?

Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

lewisracing Avatar
lewisracing Michael Scott
Los Angeles, CA, USA   USA
Our family inherited an AH Sprite from our father. I am currently rebuilding it in PA, though I am a CA resident. The car has a FL title from 1970, but has been in PA for over 35 years. We are not sure it was ever registered in PA, but we want to re-tile it in PA, in my mom's name and register it as an antique vehicle.

My mom (PA resident) went to the PA DMV and they said that we would need to bring in the car to have the VIN verified, or hire an authorized person to come out to our house to verify it. I have no problem paying for someone to do that, but we have a few issues:

1. The VIN plate is missing from the car. It looks like my dad had that part of the subframe replaced, and there are 2 holes where the VIN plate would be, but no plate.
2. The engine is missing the serial plate on top of the block. Again, two holes, no plate.
3. I have chassis #AN5/3940 and body #BAE/3924, verified by the British Heritage Museum (see below), both of which are stamped on the car door jambs, as they should be.
4. The original engine was 9CUH3570 but the FL title lists the engine in 1970 as being 9CUH4019. So, presumably, the engine is not original, which does not surprise me.
5. There is no VIN on the FL title from 1970, they used the engine #9CUH4019 (see below).
6. I found a number in my dad's notes that says "AN526440 R8", but no indication if this might be the VIN or even if it is related to the Sprite, or just some random number he wrote down.

So, any detectives, preferably from PA, who want to help me figure this out so we can get the title and registration sorted out?
Do I need to register the vehicle as a new build and will PA issue me a new VIN?