Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

AmbitiousButRubbish Avatar
AmbitiousButRubbish Chris Argue
Tempe, AZ, USA   USA
Hi all I am looking for some help on a problem I have been chasing on my engine build for my Bugeye.
I'll try and be as thorough as I can in describing the build and the steps I have taken so far but this is my first build so bear with me please.

The Engine is a 1275 with a serial number that starts with 12 CD. The engine is a complete rebuild. The block was overbored 0.020 over stock. The head is off of a Mini Cooper S and was built and shipped complete with valves and springs by MED engineering out of the UK. They also supplied the pistons (OMEGA 10cc dished) as well as crank and cam gears, camshaft (Piper RS with duration of 264), balancer and 1.5 roller rockers.

The car is setup negative ground with an electronic ignition. The ignition consists of a MSD 6AL along with Pentronix Flamethrower coil and distributor, cobalt wires and NGK 6BPR6ES spark plugs. The carbs are Dual HS4 carbs that were rebuild recently by a shop and have ACC jets in them.

The issue I am having is that the car will start up and idle at around 1000rpm but will not respond to any throttle or choke inputs at all. When I do the lift test on either carb nothing happens. If I advance the timing even slightly the rpms shoot up to between 2000 and 2500 by themselves and will start to "backfire" out of the carb intakes and will die. If I retard the timing at all the car will not start. When The car is idling I can see a slight mist of fuel that is coming out of the intake on the rear carb which becomes more pronounced when the timing is advanced.