Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Tim R Tim RAYMOND
Hythe, Kent, UK   GBR
Hi,
I am new to Sprites and am currently working on my son's 1959 948cc Frogeye. The car had burned a valve and I have had the cylinder head reconditioned and am taking the opportunity to replace some seals and gaskets to reduce the oil leaks a little. The manual refers to an 'Oil Primer bolt' this is at the back of the engine facing upwards on the side of the block beside the water drain tap but it doesn't say when or how to use it. Can someone advise me what this bolt is for, when I need to prime the oil etc. I am changing the oil, filter, sump is off, timing cover is off.

All help appreciated.

Best Wishes,

Tim R

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Perdido Avatar
Perdido Gold Member Rut Rutledge
Tuscaloosa, AL, USA   USA
Tim,
Did you drain the oil and replace the bearings (rod, main, cam)? If not and you just did head work and replaced gaskets and seals, fill it with oil, take the plugs out and turn it over with the starter. Once you have oil pressure on your gauge replace the plugs and fire it up.
Rut

ronlcraven Avatar
ronlcraven Ron Craven
Clovis, Calif, USA   USA
I believe what you are referring to is the oil pressure bypass valve. If I'm right then there is nothing you have to do to it. Racers will play with it to increase oil pressure.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Perdido Avatar
Tim,
I should have been more clear in my explanation. You remove the oil priming bolt/plug and pour oil in to fil the oil pump if it has been drained or removed. Generally speaking you can prime the pump using the starter with the spark plugs removed if the pump has not been removed. You NEVER want to start the engine without oil pressure first.
Rut

pixelsmithusa Avatar
HI Tim,