Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

oppie Avatar
oppie Gold Member Don Oppliger
Lenexa, KS, USA   USA
How easy/hard is removing & replacing the front grille & cowl on a BJ8? Mine is pitted bad enough to really bother me.
If I remove the radiator does that make it any easier.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
DSC01459.JPG    49.2 KB
DSC01459.JPG

Htimsc Avatar
Htimsc Chris Smith
Portola Valley, USA   USA
I had to take out the radiator after they delivered my car (knocked off the petcock on the bottom, and incidentally left open the windows and soaked the inside carpets - never use that company!), and while I’m not a mechanic/technician, found it reasonably easy to do. Whilst it was out, I took a good look around in there and took pix. I would observe that getting the grill out is relatively easier with the radiator out. Disconnect hoses, (hardest part was the bottom drain, locate your clamps so you can get at them when reinstalling!) drain, remove wheels to get clearer access to four bottom bolts, unbolt, the two top ones. Take care in removing radiator otherwise you might damage fins (!), that way you can get to the grill easier. You may have to remove air guides if you have them. I noted that the grill assembly is pretty complicated as a unit. Articles say that owners chrome the bars, but that is not technically correct to the original spec. Bling is not always right...
Maybe an easier way, but that’s my two bits worth.

Kounto Koen Verbeeck
Malle, Antwerp, Belgium   BEL
Just did the excersise yesterday, no need to remove the radiator but removing the front wheels and air guides will give you enough access from the side.

It will take/need time, easier to do with 2 people than alone.

Good luck !

Kind regards,

Koen from Belgium

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
RAC68 Avatar
RAC68 Raymond Carbone