Moss Motors
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Debs60BugEye Avatar
Debs60BugEye Keith Smith
Salina, KS, USA   USA
So, 60mph on the interstate and the new generator fails. It also required a new voltage regulator. Plus, I had tried the replacement and it did not charge so I took it to a local generator shop and it cost $ to get them to “fix” it. Now I am stuck with a pricey fail.
Can anyone please list the items I would need to make the switch to negative ground/alternator?
I can only think of these:
1. Fuel sending unit
2. Negative ground Pertronix
3. The alternator itself (make &Model?). Steve (below) used a Ford Fiesta model. Two fiends I have both said a GM Delco model of some sort?
And the big issue,
4. What do I do for a tachometer? I happen to like that old one. I am no electrician so I would not attempt the conversion shown from 2009 by Steve Maas.

Any other tips would be helpful.
Thanks,
Keith

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
westburn70 Eric Flack
Glasgow, Lanarkshire, UK   GBR
In the UK a "dynamotor" alternator conversion is available with
the tacho drive unit. It looks like the Lucas C39 as used on BE.
There is a "dummy" RB 106/2 voltage regulator available.

NOHOME P P
O, ON, Canada   CAN
1967 MG MGB GT "Maggie (GT From Hell)"
Sadly, the generators and regulators that are available for these cars are pretty much junk. MOSS pretty much tells you in their literature that the regulator is not going to work out of the box and it is up to you to fettle the thing.

If it is a car that you drive, I would suggest converting to an alternator and an electronic tachometer.

Pete

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Desert Rat Avatar
Desert Rat Chris S.
Las Vegas, NV, USA   USA
Hey Keith, when you say fuel sending unit do you mean fuel pump?